

# 2024 Weekend Series

# **Notice of Race**

The Fort Worth Boat Club as the Organizing Authority (OA) cordially invites you to the 2024 Weekend Series comprising the Marigail, Roadie, Hub Isaacks, Rolling Time, PAKI and Blue Moon on beautiful Eagle Mountain Lake.

#### 1. Rules

1.1. The series will be governed by the *rules* as defined in *The Racing Rules of Sailing*, the class rules of the applicable one-design classes, and the FWBC Performance Handicap Racing Fleet (PHRF) Rules and Regulations.

## 2. Eligibility & Entry

- 2.1. All series are open to all keelboats with a valid PHRF rating on file with the FWBC Office.
- 2.2. Eligible boats may register for each of the series on Regatta Networks via the Fort Worth Boat Club website at www.fwbc.com/racing

#### 3. Classification

- 3.1. Spinnaker Classes are allowed to use spinnakers while racing.
- 3.2. Genoa Classes shall not use spinnakers of any kind while racing.
- 3.3. One-design boats participating under class rules will be scored as a fleet, with a minimum of 3 boats registered as a annual or series fee.
- 3.4. Fleet assignments are defined in the Sailing Instructions for PHRF ratings.

#### 4. Fees

- 4.1. The entry fees for the Weekend Racing Series will be an Annual Pass for All Series \$225.00 Automatically entered for each series
- 4.2. Payable on Regatta Networks at the time of registering.
- 4.3. Entry fees are non-refundable.

#### 5. Schedule

- 5.1. The scheduled race days are defined in Appendix A
- 5.2. The first warning signal will be at 2.00 p.m.
- 5.3. A Competitor's Briefing will be held in the FWBC Bar one hour prior to the first warning signal of the first race of the series.
- 5.4. The awards for a series will be presented after the last scheduled race of the following series.
- 5.5. The PRO assignments are listed in Appendix A, attached to this document.

Weekend Series 2024 1 of 5 December 2023

## 6. Sailing Instructions

6.1. The Sailing Instructions are published under the documents section on Regatta Network and www.Fwbc.com/racing

#### 7. The Courses

- 7.1. The courses to be sailed will be windward-leeward, triangle, olympic, or combinations thereof.
- 7.2. The course to be sailed will be indicated by the Race Committee prior to the warning signal.

## 8. Scoring.

- 8.1. One race is required to be completed to constitute a series.
- 8.2. When five races have been completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her worst score..
- 8.3. When six races have been completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her 2 worst score.

## 9. Radio Communications

9.1. Except in an emergency, a boat that is racing shall not make voice or data transmissions and shall not receive voice or data communication that is not available to all boats.

## 10. Prizes

- 10.1.It is a goal of the Race Committee to encourage consistent race participation in addition to performance. As such, prizes will only be awarded to boats that participate in at least 60% of the completed races in a series.
- 10.2. Prizes will be awarded at the discretion of the Race Committee based on participation levels.
- 10.3. The Race Committee may, at its discretion, consolidate prize-giving for competitors who place in multiple fleets in a series simultaneously.

# 11. Disclaimer of Liability

11.1. Sailing is an activity with inherent risks of damage and injury. Competitors in this event participate entirely at their own risk – see RRS 3, DECISION TO RACE. The race organizers (Fort Worth Boat Club (FWBC) race committee, protest committee, sponsors, or any other organization or official) will not be responsible for damage to any boat or other property or the injury to any competitor, including death, sustained as a result of participation in this event. By participating in this event, each competitor agrees to release the race organizers from any and all liability associated with such competitor's participation in this event to the fullest extent permitted by law.

## 12. Insurance

12.1. Each participating boat shall be insured with valid third party liability insurance with a minimum cover of \$300,000.00 per incident.

# 13. Further Information

- 13.1. For further information please contact the FWBC Office or the Race Committee.
- 13.2. The FWBC office phone number is (817) 236-8393.

# Appendix A Schedule Of Races & Principle Race Officer Assignments

The Schedule of Race and PRO assignments will be as follows:

Series Races	Date	Start Time	Principal Race Officer (PRO)	email		
	Marigail					
1	7 January	1400	Martin Peacey	oceanrcr@me.com		
2	14 January	1400	Rick Schaffer	rcs.jr@att.net		
3	21 January	1400	Mark W Smith	mwsmark@flash.net		
4	28 January	1400	Matt Talton	matt@kayco-composites.com>		
5	5 February	1400	Michael Winfrey	wbwinfrey@gmail.com		
6	11 February	1400	Dwight Horton	dwighthorton@hotmail.com		
	Roadie					
1	18 February	1400	Matt Arno	marno@alum.mit.edu		
2	25 February	1400	Marc Nilsson	marcnilsson@gmail.com		
3	3 March	1400	Glenn Darden	gdarden@mercuryexp.com		
4	10 March	1400	Bryan Dyer	bdyer@woodmont.com		
5	17 March	1400	James Mitchell	jcm530@icloud.com		
6	24 March	1400	Edwin Youngblood	edwinyoungblood@att.net		
	Hub Isaacks					
1	7 April	1400	David Swaim	dswaim9295@sbcglobal.net		
2	14 April	1400	Jonathan Witt	jwitt0230@gmail.com		
3	28 April	1400	Conner Fullerton	conner0987@hotmail.com		
4	5 May	1400	Kyle Meyer	kyle.meyer@sbcglobal.net		
5	19 May	1400	Craig Johnson	craig.r.johnson@lmco.com>		

Series Races	Date	Start Time	Principal Race Officer (PRO)	email		
	Rolling Time					
1	2 June	1400	Martin Peacey	oceanrcr@me.com		
2	9 June	1400	Mike Schwinn	mikeschwinn@verizon.net		
3	23 June	1400	Chris Cain	chris.cain1696@gmail.com		
4	30 June	1400	Mark Smith	mwsmark@flash.net		
5	7 July	1400	TBA			
	PAKI					
1	8 September	1400	Dwight Horton	dwighthorton@hotmail.com		
2	15 September	1400	Matt Arno	marno@alum.mit.edu		
3	22 September	1400	Michael Winfrey	wbwinfrey@gmail.com		
4	29 September	1400	Matt Talton	matt@kayco-composites.com>		
5	6 October	1400	James Mitchell	jcm530@icloud.com		
6	20 October	1400	David Thornton	datj80@hotmail.com		
	Blue Moon					
1	27 October	1400	Edwin Youngblood	edwinyoungblood@att.net		
2	3 November	1400	Jason Bradley	jason.bradley@sbcglobal.net		
3	5 November	1400	Martin Peacey	oceanrcr@me.com		
4	23 November	1400	Rick Schaffer	rcs.jr@att.net		
5	8 December	1400	Marc Nilsson	marcnilsson@gmail.com		
6	15 December	1400	Martin Peacey	oceanrcr@me.com		